I created an account at naukri.com coz I wanted to send my resume to Yahoo - India and also wanted to put my resume on the site.
I didn’t read their TOS (not even sure if they had one). Yesterday I got an email from Jeevansathi.com saying that “While naukri.com finds you the job of your dreams, jeevansathi.com will search for your dream partner” blah blah. They sold my email address to them :|.
Generally I am critical about the TOS but this time I don’t even remmember if I accepted something which shares my email address with their partner companies :|. I feel cheated.
If this was not it, today I received an email from some “yahoo” email address with the subject “Your CV has been Shortlisted“. Feeling proud, I checked the email. It said that my resume had been selected by “G.T.C.L..Technology Ltd -Stamford, CT,USA. The Company deal in Electronics and Software Manufacturing Business.”
Initially I thought they messed up Stanford’s spelling but later realized that it was some city in CT. Even before I could fully enjoy the success, my eyes read this line somewhere in the middle of the letter ” First you have to Pay interview security - INR (Rs.) 5,500/- (Cheque/DD)” - The next thing I thought about was “A SCAM”.
Why the hell do I pay you…lol after reading the whole thing, the email looked so lame. It has given a person’s name and a/c number @ HDFC bank in mumbai and have written a lot of other crap with a lot of spelling errors such as letter = latter (dammnit, atleast use MS Word’s spell check b4 sending a scamish email)
On further query (ofcourse on Google) I found that there is a city called Stamford in CT, but couldn’t find a GTCL Technologies (perhaps it exists). I also searched for the name of the company what sent the email. i couldn’t find anything related to a scam or something but that they had some connection with naukri.com.
Now I am wondering, what can I do with the person’s name, a/c number and their address. Its possible all or some of the info they provided might be false or incorrect. Let me know if someone can help me or can point me to a right direction.
here is the exact email:
From: asian_jobs_1975@yahoo.com
Date: Mon, 31 Jan 2005 12:17:58 -0500
Subject: Your CV has been Shortlisted
Reply | Reply to all | Forward | Print | Add sender to contacts list | Trash this message | Report phishing | Show original
Dear Applicant,Ref: Short-listed & Initial Response of Resume online.
Information for Selection of final Stage for India based Limited company in “G.T.C.L..Technology Ltd -Stamford, CT,USA. The Company deal in Electronics and Software Manufacturing Business
You will be pleased to know that Company has advised us in the selection panel that your Application CAN be progressed to final stage.
You will come to our Company corporate office in Mumbai, next week after recd. the call latter with TA/DA by Company HRD. with photocopies of all required documents. First you have to Pay interview security - INR (Rs.) 5,500/- (Cheque/DD) from your Home City to Company Sr. HRD.Account NO. “3261000011860 - “Raj Kumar Sharma” in HDFC Bank , as an interview security in favor of Company HRD. It will be refundable at the time of Company interview. Your offer latter and Tickets or TA/DA will be send by us after recd. the confirmation of security deposited in Bank. We will dispatch your call or offer latter after received the confirmation. The Job profile and designation will be fix by Company HRD. at time of interview.
REQUIRED DOCUMENTS BY THE COMPANY
1.Photo-copies of Qualification Documents
2.Photo-copies of Experience Certificate
3.Photo-copies of Passport.
4 Salary Certificate (if any)
5.Photo-copies of Address Proof.
6.Two Passport Size Photo-graphThe Job Profile, Salary offer, and Date -Time of interview will be mention in your call or offer latter. Your latter will dispatch after recd. the confirmation of security transfer in bank. Last date of confirmation is on 01-02-2005 on Tuesday. All process will be made by Company after your selection. We wish you the best of luck for the subsequent and remaining stage.
Sincerely,
“ASIAN MANAGEMENT”
56 - GE Complex, West Block,
Race course Road, Mumbai.-92
If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!
11 Responses
Ankur Raheja
January 31st, 2005 at 8:46 pm
1Really, this is not good :no:
I also receive such mails. Once I replied them by saying… I think I registered at Job site and not matrimonial
Now-a-days, other spam I am receiving is with the Subject as “E-Bay verification” you are directed to some other site but the look is exactly like Ebay, you think you are filing up form on Ebay, which includes columns like Credit Card nos, Bank details …
Details: http://www.antiphishing.org/
abhi
January 31st, 2005 at 9:56 pm
2You can also try monster.com. I know a few people who got good jobs thru it.
Gaurav
January 31st, 2005 at 11:47 pm
3ok, the post had been messed up due to some error in the post. I missed a qoutation mark. Now it is the complete post.
Thanks for the link Ankur.
Abhi - I am not using naukri.com for findian a naukri, actually I wanted to check how much Yahoo India is offering. I use monster, but its not that great. Dice.com is really good for IT jobs. I sent email to 5 companies and so far got 2 replies. 40% is too good.
Govind
February 1st, 2005 at 12:36 am
4Jab shaadi kar raha hai tho. Ladddooo khaane mujhe jaroor bulaanaa.
Anyways, all the best with your job search.
Ankur Raheja
February 1st, 2005 at 6:00 am
5I will suggest you to report the matter to Mumbai Cyber Crime Cell at http://cybercellmumbai.com
It will be easy for the police to track down, as this person seems to have provded with correct account number.
Puneet
February 1st, 2005 at 6:05 am
6gaurav you must be thankful of them.. see such nice people they .. not only trying to help find job.. but also complimentary….. services too helping find life partner also.. :-p they trying you get you settled in life.. totally.. hehehehe lol :-p
manpreet
February 4th, 2005 at 11:09 pm
7i too got same mail, what i do. do tell me
Sandeep Salunkhe
February 5th, 2005 at 1:04 pm
8Hey Gaurav,
I got the exact same email regarding a job in G.T.C.L..Technology Ltd. I think complaining to the cyber crime cell is not gonna solve the problem as we dont know whether Raj Kumar Sharma is the exact same person who has posted the mail. Its easy to frame someone else. We can do nothing better than to ignore the same.
Gaurav
February 5th, 2005 at 10:25 pm
9It seems like, when u google G.T.C.L. Technology, this page shows up :p
Sanddep & Manpreet (or anybody who is a shikar of this scam) if you take some action, do let me know
Govind - Abhi to nahi kar raha. Thanks for ur wishes.
Ankur - I seriously don’t think police can do much about it. May be I am wrong. Here are some of the Cyber Cell’s Karnamas.
Puneet - Yes, they are helping me in that, but first they should ask me if I need their help or not. Its like helping an old lady cross the road (when she just crossed it.)
I don’t need their help
vijay babel
February 14th, 2005 at 2:06 am
10i also go to add with che. but theren was not any company @addwas also wrong.i think they r frod.
prasenjit
October 1st, 2005 at 7:00 pm
11friends,
i have also received on 01/10/2005 the same mail like Gaurv.its just the new way of frauding,nothing else.
RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI
Leave a reply
Categories
Archives
Links
Meta
Calendar
Recent Entries
Recent Comments
Most Commented
A Weird Soul is proudly powered by WordPress - BloggingPro theme by: Design Disease